• Alex 50km Lahti Champion
    • The National Winter Sports Development Association announces funding support for 2017-18

      June 28, 2017

      The National Winter Sport Development Association (NWSDA) was established through the foresight and donation of the Disbrow family. This generous support of the NWSDA is aimed at assisting coaches, athletes and competitive racing programs in Canada; the long-term goal is focused on boosting and sustaining Canada’s performance level and ranking at the international level. During the past ten seasons, the NWSA funding has contributed over 1.5 million dollars to enhancing the delivery of high performance club programs and assisting athletes with financial assistance. The NWSDA’s platform of support has a primary target of assisting in professionalizing and expanding the quality of club program delivery through Canada’s network of high performance cross-country ski coaches. The NWSDA is also committed to allocating some funding support to selected developing athletes who demonstrate potential towards long-term international podium success.

      The NWSDA is very encouraged with the outcomes of their support for clubs and athletes and is pleased to award four athletes and twelve clubs a total disbursement of $150,000 for the 2017-18 season.

      The Association’s order of priorities for funding assistance includes:
      1. The hiring of full time professional coaches to lead year-round athlete development programs. The coach is required to adapt an inclusive approach to Cross Country Canada’s Long-Term Athlete Development (LTAD) Guide, “Cross-Country Skiing – A Sport for Life.”
      2. Advancing the education of professional coaches and cross-country ski racers who want to become professional coaches; this may include assisting them in their education at the National Coaching Institute (NCI), NCCP Certification or other career enhancing professional development opportunities.
      3. Funding assistance for athletes who have demonstrated athletic excellence at the national and international level.

      Congratulations to the Organizations & Athletes Selected for Funding for 2017-18:                    

      Whitehorse Cross Country Ski Club/CCY       
      Nakkertok Nordic/Nordique
      Black Jack Ski Club
      Skibec Nordique
      Rocky Mountain Racers
      Team Hardwood
      Canmore Nordic
      Telemark Nordic Ski Club
      Big Thunder Ski Club
      Revelstoke Ski Club
      Club de ski de fond Montériski

      Philippe Boucher                     Skibec/PHTC
      Ryan Jackson                           Team Hardwood
      Natalie Hynes                          Whitehorse Cross Country Ski Club
      India Macisaac                          Foothills Nordic