• Alex 50km Lahti Champion
    • Finalists confirmed for Sudbury Sports Hall of Fame Annual Awards

      May 8, 2017

      by Randy Pascal

      The finalists for the annual awards that are handed out at the Sudbury Sports Hall of Fame Dinner have been confirmed, with several athletes and teams who have achieved national recognition dotting the list.

      From the familiar faces of Rebecca Johnston, Kayla Folz, Dale Beausoleil and a slew of curling talent, to newcomers such as Collin Cameron (para-nordic skiing), Kadre Gray (Laurentian basketball) and Dylann Mazzuchin (high school athletics), the array of talent is impressive, to say the least.

      The 2017 Hall of Fame Dinner will take place on Wednesday, June 14th, upstairs at the Carsuso Club, beginning at 5:30 p.m. In addition to recognizing a slate of new inductees that includes Pat Pickard, Bill McKetsy, Ron Didone, Bob Rogers, Mary Waddell, Mario Anselmo, Andy Barbe, Mike Derks and the 1999-2000 Rayside-Balfour Sabrecats team, the evening will see winners named in each of the following categories:

      Elite Athlete of the Year
      Collin Cameron (Laurentian Nordic - Para-Nordic Skiing)
      Curtis Halladay (Laurentian Rowing - Para Rowing)
      Ross Proudfoot (Speed River - Distance Running)

      Coach of the Year
      Dale Beausoleil (Cambrian Golden Shield - Women's Volleyball)
      Patti Kitler (Laurentian Nordic - Para-Nordic Skiing)
      Aaron Rehel (Sudbury Gladiators - Football)

      Read the Full article