• Alex 50km Lahti Champion
    • Haywood RACE Report: Ontario and Nakkertok are Overall Haywood National Champions

      March 23, 2015



      The Haywood RACE Report is powered by Haywood Securities Inc. - proud sponsor of the Canadian Cross Country National Ski Team

      haywood-ski-nationals-2015-(1).jpg             4851-(1).jpg       
      images.jpeg     lappe-logo.png

      The 88th edition of the Haywood Ski Nationals wrapped up on the weekend in Thunder Bay with the event exceeding the "Lappe standard" of organizational excellence. There was great weather (a bit brisk at times), great trails and great organization. The standard of competition was also excellent with a variety of winners and some gold medals for the host club!

      Each Championships involves it share of trophies and awards, which we will summarize here:

      Club Championship
      In 2009 Foothills Nordic captured it's 8th straight Club championship title, with a narrow 6 point win over Nakkertok. By capturing the overall 2015 title, Nakkertok now claims their 6th straight victory but by a fairly narrow margin of 144 points over Skibec. Skibec had the most junior points.

      Team Hardwood moved from 4th in 2014 to 3rd. Of the top 5 clubs, all but Team Hardwood dropped points from 2014, with other clubs grabbing a bigger share of the points from the Top 5.


      Divisional Championships
      There were changes in the Divisional rankings as Ontario came out on top after moving from 4th, one place at a time, since 2012. This is the first time Ontario has led since 2006, interestingly the last time the Nationals were at Lappe. Once again the margin was fairly small at 357 points.  B.C. jumped ahead of Alberta, with an increase of almost 1000 points since 2014.

      Individual Aggregate Awards:

      Malcolm Hunter Trophy
      This awarded to the overall national champions and this year the worthy recipients were Nakkertok's Perianne Jones and 3 time gold medallist Michael Somppi of the host club Lappe Nordic.

      The Malcolm Hunter Award recognizes the Senior Aggregate champions at the Ski Nationals and is named after an Olympian and long-time volunteer and staff member with CCC.

      The Sofie Manarin Award
      Antoine Laforte of Skibec and Molly Miller of Kimberley, the 2014 winners, were again the winners of the Sofie Manarin Award as Juvenile champions.

      Molly Miller and Antoine Laforte with Alain Parent,
      former NST Jr. Team coach of Sofie

      The Sofie Manarin Award was established in 2004 in memory of Sofie Manarin, a member of the 2001 Junior NST who passed away while training as a result of a traffic accident in Sudbury. At the age of 16, Sofie had already won 13 Junior Championship medals in her short career and was the top North American women at the 2001 World Junior Championships.

      Other aggregate winners:
      U23  Dahria Beatty, Whitehorse; Raphaël Couturier, Skibec
      1995 Maya McIsaac-Jones, Rocky Mtn. Racers; Ricardo Izquierdo-Bernier, Fondeurs-Laurentide
      1996 Sadie White, Big Thunder; Joey Foster, Team Hardwood
      1997 Marie Corriveau, Mont Ste. Anne; Antoine Blais, Skibec
      1998 Hannah Mehain, Sovereign Lake; Ty Godfrey, Canmore
      1999 Anna Goodwin, Hollyburn; Antoine Laforte, Skibec
      2000+ Mollie Miller, Kimberley; Malcolm Thompson, Georgian

      Individual Aggregate Points

      The Rolf Petterson trophy and Mary Anderson trophy were awarded to Michael Somppi and Cendrine Browne.

         Rolf Petterson Trophy

      Mary Anderson Award
      Women's 30km, Cendrine Browne, Fondeurs-Laurentide
      As a resident of the northern BC community of Burns Lake, Mary Anderson was a "pioneer" coach and cross-country ski promoter.  She was a tireless and unselfish worker in the sport.
      Rolf Petterson Trophy 
      Men's 50km, Michael Somppi, Lappe Nordic.
      This trophy was donated by the Viking Construction Ltd. from Prince George, BC. in honour of Rolf Petterson a former National Ski Team member and Olympian for Canada. 

      Devlin Cup 
      Men's 15 km: Ivan Babikov, Foothills
      Originally donated by W.C. Devlin, VP of the Canadian Ski Association in 1931, the Cup is awarded annually to the winner of the 15 km men's race at the Canadian Ski Championships.  The Cup, was constructed of solid silver and originally stood 15 inches high. The current version resides at the Bill Warren Training Centre and now stands almost 3 feet high and contains the names of skiers dating back to the first Canadian Championships in 1921.

      The Devlin Cup, held by former winner, George Grey

      The Hickory Wing Trophy
      Women's 5km: Dahria Beatty, Whitehorse
      The Hickory Wing Trophy was donated by the founding members of the Hickory Wing Ski Club of Prince George, BC. It is annually awarded to the winner of the Ladies 5 km event at the Canadian Cross-Country Ski Championships. 

      Muskoka Trophy
      Jr. Girls Challenge Relay: Alison Pouw and Zoë Williams, Nakkertok.
      The Muskoka Trophy was donated by the Muskoka Loppet Committee and Lembit Joselin of the Estonian Ski Club of Toronto in the late 60's. The winner of the Junior and then Challenge Girls 3 x 5 km relay at the National Championships was recognized until 2007 when the Trophy was presented to the winners of the Challenge Girls Team Sprint event.

      Pepsi Cola Trophy
      Jr. Boys Challenge Relay: Antoine Blais and Philippe Boucher, Skibec. 
      The Pepsi Cola trophy was introduced in 1956 at the first Canadian Junior Cross Country Ski Championships. At that time the trophy was presented to the top Junior aggregate team by the Pepsi Cola Company.  In recent years the trophy has been presented to the top Junior Men's Relay team at the National Championships.  In 2007 the award was first presented to the Team Sprint winners.  


      Previous Results

      Standings are determined by a scoring system that awards points to the top 30 participants in the race and the details are included in the Haywood Ski Nationals Technical Package.

      Next year the Nationals go north to Whitehorse, Yukon

      Follow the races on the CCC website, TwitterFacebook