Haywood Nationals RACE Report: Chandra Crawford wins 30k

    March 24, 2012


    "The Haywood Race Reports are powered by Haywood Securities Inc., proud sponsor of Canada's National Cross Country Ski Team"

    Sr. Women 30k
    Chandra Crawford has been traditionally a skate sprint specialist, but her hard work at developing her classic and distance skiing paid off today in her final race of the Haywood Ski Nationals, 2012.

    In the early stages of the 30k race, Chandra led a breakaway group of Dasha Gaiazova, Perianne Jones and the 2 top level Norwegian entrants, Britt Ingunn Nydal and Ragnhild Haga. The 5 skiers at the front had built up a lead of a minute and a half as they came through the stadium at the 10k mark.

    In mid part of the race Perianne Jones dropped out of the top group, skiing solo, but still in bronze medal position.

    The race positions were maintained until the final 5k when Canmore's Chandra Crawford increased the pace, stretching out the top group and skiing to victory by a comfortable margin over Britt Ingunn Nydal, for her first gold at the championships. Ragnhild Haga finished in 3rd with Dasha Gaiazova of Rocky Mountain a bit further back in 4th for the silver Canadian Championship medal, with Perianne Jones of Nakkertok claiming the bronze.

    Jr. Women 20k
    The Junior Women's race saw a group of 8 setting the pace in the early stages until Rebecca Reid of Black Jack, Maya MacIssac-Jones of  Rocky Mtn. and Anne-Marie Comeau of Mont Ste. Anne broke away on the 2nd lap.

    The 3 leaders stayed together until the final 3rd when MacIsaac-Jones pulled away from Reid and Comeau. MacIsaac-Jones continued her strong finish, picking up almost 30 seconds on the final 5k, for the Canadian Championship gold. Rebecca Reid claimed silver and Anne Marie Comeau was 3rd, for the bronze medal.

    JR. Boys/Girls
    Scott Hill for Team Hardwood was the Jr Boys champion holding off a strong challenge throughout the race by Thomas Hardy of Larch Hills. Shawn Degroot of Black Jack was 3rd.

    In the Junior Girls race Katherine Stewart-Jones of Nakkertok, was challenged for much of the race by Sarah Beaudry of Caledonia, however it was another gold for Stewart-Jones who finished about 20 seconds ahead at the end. Emily De Freitas of Foothills won the bronze.

    Juv. Girls/Boys
    In the Juvenile Girls race Megan Evans of Revelstoke was the winner by 4 secobds over Laurence Dumais of Fondeurs-Laurentides. Gabrielle Sarthou ofMontériski was 3rd.

    Philip Boucher of Skibec won the Juvenile Boys title over Eric Byram of Sovereign Lake and Peter Hicks of Canmore.

    Christy Campbell of Waterloo Region was today's women's sitski champ, with Louis Fortin of Sureau Blanc Inc and Erica Nooman of Whaleback winning the standing Men and Women's classes.
    ParaNordic Results

    Complete Results

    Unofficial Aggregate Champions (Final, younger junior and YOB champions to be published shortly)
    Senior Men: Alex Harvey, Mont Ste. Anne  (Malcolm Hunter Award)
    Senior Women: Perianne Jones, Nakkertok  (Malcolm Hunter Award)
    Junior Men: Knute Johnsgaard, Whitehorse
    Junior Women: Maya MacIssaac-Jones, Rocky Mtn.