• Alex 50km Lahti Champion
    • World Senior Championship (WSC) 2011 Team Announcement and Synopsis of Selection Process

      January 17, 2011

      The following athletes were nominated for selection to the 2011 Senior World Championships team that will compete in the Drammen World Cups Feb.19-20 and the WSC in Oslo, Norway Feb.22 ¨C March 6.


      Dasha Gaiazova                        Rocky Mountain Racers/NST

      Chandra Crawford                      Canmore Nordic/NST

      Perianne Jones                          Nakkertok/NST

      Brooke Gosling                          Foothills Nordic/CXC

      Devon Kershaw                         Ona-Wa-Su/NST

      Alex Harvey                              Club Nordique M.S.A/NST

      Ivan Babikov                             Foothills Nordic/NST

      Stefan Kuhn                              Canmore Nordic/NST

      George Grey                              Blackjack/NST

      Len Valjas                                 Team Hardwood/NDC Qu¨¦bec/NST

      Phil Widmer                              Canmore Nordic/NDC Qu¨¦bec/NST






      Trip Purpose:

      a)      To meet established CCC individual and team international benchmarks for this event and long-term benchmarks leading to the 2014 OWGs;

      b)      To provide development opportunities to complement these benchmarks where it is in the best interest of the team's overall results at this event and development leading to the 2014 OWG.


      Trip objectives:

      a)      WSC - one medal;

      b)      WSC - Top 6 result in men's relay;

      c)      Podium and Top 12 results.


      Comments on the selection criteria from the selection committee (Mike Badham, Tasha Betcherman, Stephane Barrette, and Thomas Holland): The role of the selection committee is to apply the criteria as written and scrutinize the selection recommendations of the Head Coach. The selection criteria for this event were based on key performance events - 2010-11 World Cups up to Jan.9, 2010, the Teck NorAm sprint event in Rossland Dec.17, 2010, the Haywood NorAm pursuit (men and women) and 10K (women only) events in Thunder Bay Jan.6 and 9, 2011. The selection committee recognized that the criteria did not allow for the comparison of results in 8.7.c (winners of designated domestic selection events) and 8.7.d (placing top 20 on the WC in 2010-11events). Given the challenge of providing WC experiences to the top development athletes and at the same time assuring that athletes racing domestically had opportunities to qualify for the WSC, 8.7.d (domestic winners) was ranked ahead of top 20 placings on the WC when the criteria were written.


      Based on the recommendations of the Head Coach, the selection committee had to analyze the maximum number of athletes that could be selected so that there would be a reasonable opportunity of starts at the WSC for all athletes selected. The Head Coach and the committee took a close look at sprint vs. distance athletes and the ability of the selected team to fill the quota spots within the guidelines of the purpose and objectives of the trip. The selection committee agreed with and supported the coach's recommendation that the maximum team size to meet this purpose was 11 athletes.


      Selection Process

      In accordance with the criteria, the selections were made using the priorities listed in 8.7 considering the maximum entry of four athletes in all events except the team sprint.  As per the criteria, the balance between sprint and distance athletes was based on the recommendations of the NST Head Coach.


      The following athletes were nominated for selection to the World Senior Championships in accordance with the selection ranking outlined in 8.7 of the criteria.


      1.       8.7.a: Devon Kershaw and Dasha Gaiazova for being in the current FIS World Cup red group;


      2.       8.7.b: Alex Harvey, Chandra Crawford and Ivan Babikov were selected based on top 12 results in individual 2010-11 World Cup events;


      3.       8.7.c: Stefan Kuhn, Perianne Jones and George Grey were selected for winning the designated domestic selection events (refer to 8.5 ii-iv in the selection criterion);


      4.       8.7.d: Len Valjas and Phil Widmer were selected based on top 20 and top half results in individual 2010-11 World Cup events;


      5.       8.7.f: Brooke Gosling was selected based on the distance and sprint ranking lists and recommendation of the Head Coach as the next ranked female athlete with the greatest potential to meet the purpose and objectives for the trip.


      In accordance with 8.7.g of the criteria, athletes with exceptional results at the U23 World Championships could still be added to this trip if there are quota positions available for them to start at the WSC.