• Alex 50km Lahti Champion
    • The Nordic Ski Team for the 2011 Winter Universiade – Erzurum, Turkey

      September 16, 2010

      The Nordic Ski Team for the 2011 Winter Universiade – Erzurum, Turkey is posted below:

      Colin Abbott Carleton University  Whitehorse Cross Country Ski Club
      Benjamin Hebert  Université Laval Club du ski de fond Skiélite Inc.
      Jesse Heckrodt  Okanagon College Larch Hills Nordic Ski Society
      Anthony Killick  University of Calgary Banff Ski Runners
      Vincent Ruel Université Laval Commision de ski nordique Skibec
      Adele Lay Carleton University  Nakkertok Nordic
      Alexia Pichard-Jolicouer  Université Laval Club Nordique Mont Ste Anne 
      Zoe Roy University Of Utah Banff Ski Runners
      Mary Thompson Laurentian University  Nakkertok Nordic
      Maja Zimmermann Augustana  Camrose Nordic Ski Club

      The Universiade is a multi-sport event that takes place every two years in various cities all over the world.   It is one of the largest sporting events worldwide, second only in size to the Olympic Games. The 25th Universiade in Erzurum will feature over 80 sporting events, encompassed in the following 13 sports:


      Alpine Skiing, Curling, Cross Country Skiing, Ski Jumping, Nordic Combined, Biathlon, Ice Hockey, Short Track Speed Skating, Long Track Speed Skating, Figure Skating, Synchronized Skating, Snowboard, and Freestyle Skiing.

      Canada’s team will be coached by Mark Tierney of Newfoundland and Sara Nielson of Whitehorse. Team leader is Mary Waddell of Sudbury.

      * Currently there are still several positions to fill on the team list and waiting list.

      * This event is totally self-supported by the athletes and coaches – any sponsorship would be welcome!

      For any further information – please contact Mary Waddell